BIFA Nominations


Nominations were announced on 3rd November 2014 and the Awards ceremony will take place on 7th December 2014 at Old Billingsgate, London.

The Northern Ireland-set thriller ’71 has picked up nine nominations for this year’s Moët British Independent Film Awards (MBIFAs), with Pride taking seven and Catch Me Daddy, Frank and Mr. Turner all on five.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at Old Billingsgate, London on Sunday 7 December.

Best British independent film

Mr. Turner
The Imitation Game

Best director

John Michael McDonagh – Calvary
Lenny Abrahamson – Frank
Matthew Warchus – Pride
Mike Leigh – Mr. Turner
Yann Demange  – ’71

The Douglas Hickox Award [Best debut director]

Daniel Wolfe, Matthew Wolfe – Catch Me Daddy
Hong Khaou – Lilting
Iain Forsyth, Jane Pollard – 20,000 Days on Earth
Morgan Matthews – X+Y
Yann Demange –  ’71

Best screenplay

Graham Moore – The Imitation Game
Gregory Burke  – ’71
John Michael McDonagh – Calvary
Jon Ronson, Peter Straughan – Frank
Stephen Beresford – Pride

Best actress

Alicia Vikander – Testament of Youth
Cheng Pei Pei – Lilting
Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle
Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game
Sameena Jabeen Ahmed – Catch Me Daddy

Best actor

Asa Butterfield – X+Y
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game
Brendan Gleeson – Calvary
Jack O’Connell – ’71
Timothy Spall – Mr. Turner

Best supporting actress

Dorothy Atkinson – Mr. Turner
Imelda Staunton – Pride
Maggie Gyllenhaal – Frank
Sally Hawkins – X+Y
Sienna Guillory – The Goob

Best supporting actor

Andrew Scott – Pride
Ben Schnetzer – Pride
Michael Fassbender – Frank
Rafe Spall – X+Y
Sean Harris – ’71

Most promising newcomer

Ben Schnetzer – Pride
Cara Delevingne – The Face of an Angel
Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle
Liam Walpole – The Goob
Sameena Jabeen Ahmed – Catch Me Daddy

Best achievement in production 

20,000 Days on Earth
Catch Me Daddy
The Goob

Best technical achievement

Chris Wyatt – editing – ’71
Dick Pope – cinematography – Mr. Turner
Robbie Ryan – cinematography – Catch Me Daddy
Stephen Rennicks – music – Frank
Tat Radcliffe – cinematography – ’71

Best documentary

20,000 Days on Earth
Next Goal Wins
Night Will Fall
The Possibilities Are Endless

Best British short

Emotional Fusebox
Keeping Up with the Joneses
The Kármán Line

Best international independent film

Blue Ruin
Fruitvale Station
The Babadook

The Raindance Award

Flim: The Movie…
Keeping Rosy
The Beat beneath My Feet

The Richard Harris Award (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film)

To be announced

The Variety Award

To be announced

The Special Jury Prize

To be announced

You May Also Like...