Dilys Powell Award

Miranda Richardson to receive the top accolade at London Critics’ Circle Film Awards


The UK’s top film critics will present Miranda Richardson with their highest accolade, the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film, at their awards ceremony on Sunday.

Born in Southport, Lancashire, Richardson made her film debut in Mike Newell’s Dance With a Stranger (1985) and has been acclaimed for her work in movies, theatre and television. She has been nominated for two Oscars (for Damage in 1992 and Tom & Viv in 1994) and seven Baftas, and won both the Bafta and the London Critics’ Circle Film Award for Damage. Her ongoing film work includes projects with directors such as Steven Spielberg (Empire of the Sun), Robert Altman (Kansas City), Tim Burton (Sleepy Hollow), Neil Jordan (The Crying Game), David Cronenberg (Spider), Stephen Daldry (The Hours) and Nicolas Roeg (Puffball).

This past year, she appeared in Amma Asante’s acclaimed historical biopic Belle and the current release Testament of Youth, based on Vera Brittain’s memoir. She also had a memorable cameo in Muppets Most Wanted and teamed with Anna Chancellor to revive Mapp & Lucia on BBC One.

In anticipation of receiving this latest award, Richardson said: “Thank you to the Critics’ Circle for this gift in memory of one of the great women of film history. I’m looking forward to an evening of celebration of the medium Dilys Powell loved and which, against all odds is still dominating our hearts and minds.”

Dilys Powell was an iconic British author and film critic who pioneered a new style of cinematic journalism. The British Film Institute famously described her as “open to new directions in cinema … not constrained by the middle class shibboleths of ‘good taste’.” Her final review, of Kubrick’s Barry Lyndon, was published in The Times on the day of her death in June 1995.

Recent Dilys Powell Award honorees include Nicolas Roeg, Kristin Scott Thomas, Helena Bonham Carter and last year’s recipient Gary Oldman. The award has been given out annually since 1991, when it was presented to Dirk Bogarde.

Mike Leigh’s biopic Mr Turner and Alejandro Iñarritu’s Birdman lead the nominations for the 35th London Critics’ Circle Film Awards, which will be presented in a black tie ceremony at The May Fair Hotel on Sunday, hosted by Alice Lowe and Steve Oram, who won the critics’ Breakthrough British Filmmakers award for their screenplay for 2012’s Sightseers. Also contending for Film of the Year are Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Ida, Leviathan, Nightcrawler, The Theory of Everything, Under the Skin and Whiplash.

The red carpet event is sponsored by The May Fair Hotel, Audi, Hardy’s, Voss and Cameo Productions.


You May Also Like...