The Richard Harris Award


The recipient of The Richard Harris Award was announced today by Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson, joint Directors, The Moët British Independent Film Awards.

Julie Walters will receive The Richard Harris Award at the ceremony this Sunday 8th December at Old Billingsgate.

The Richard Harris Award was introduced in 2002 in honour of Richard Harris and recognises outstanding contribution to British film by an actor.  Previous winners have included John Hurt, David Thewlis, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent, Daniel Day-Lewis, Helena Bonham Carter, Ralph Fiennes, and Michael Gambon in 2012.

Julie Walters CBE who started out in TV working with comedian Victoria Wood has built a highly successful career spanning 4 decades becoming one of the UK’s most beloved actors in the process. She broke in to film with her BAFTA and Golden Globe winning performance in a supporting role in the 1984 international hit EDUCATING RITA where she starred alongside Sir Michael Caine. The role also earned her an Academy Award nomination.Walters was once again nominated for an Academy Award in 2001 for Stephen Daldry’s BILLY ELLIOT and that same year was cast as Molly Weasley in HARRY POTTER AND THE PHILOSOPHER’S STONE – a character she would continue to play for the next 10 years as the franchise became a global phenomenon. She has starred in some of British cinema’s greatest films including CALENDAR GIRLS in 2003, and one of the highest-grossing UK films of all time MAMMA MIA! Walters will next be seen as ‘Nan’ in THE HARRY HILL MOVIE out later this month, and plays Mrs Bird in the highly anticipated live-action drama PADDINGTON which is due for release in late 2014.

Proud supporters and patrons of The Moët British Independent Film Awards include Mike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, James Nesbitt, Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda Swinton, Meera Syal, David Thewlis, Ray Winstone and Michael Winterbottom.

The Moët British Independent Film Awards would like to thank all its supporters, especially: Moët & Chandon, BFI NET.WORK, 3 Mills Studios, BBC Films, Company 3, M.A.C Cosmetics, Raindance, Sanderson & St Martins Lane – Morgans Hotel Group, Soho House, Studiocanal, Swarovski, Variety, Wentworth Media and Arts, LightBrigade, AllCity and Intermission.


Created by Raindance

The winners will be announced at the much anticipated 16th awards ceremony which will be hosted by actor and BIFA Patron, James Nesbitt, who returns for his eighth year on Sunday 8th December at the impressive Old Billingsgate in London.

The awards ceremony will be streamed exclusively live on from 8.00pm

Enhanced by Zemanta

You May Also Like...